The theme of the week entering the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Heartbreak.

It’s not only heartbreaking that the shortened Formula 1 season comes to an end this Sunday, but it’s heartbreaking for George Russell: His brief but magnificent brush with greatness landed him in the points — the first of his F1 career — but away from the podium where he was seemingly destined to be. A tire puncture and chaotic Mercedes pit stop ended Russell’s chance at glory and one of the best sports stories of the year.

It’s also heartbreaking to see that Romain Grosjean, despite his earlier wishes to get back behind the wheel of the car in 2020, will not be racing in Abu Dhabi out of an abundance of caution after his crash in the Bahrain Grand Prix. Lewis Hamilton’s status is currently unknown, but he seems to be bettering and readying for a return to his No. 44 car this weekend. If not, Russell gets one more opportunity for Mercedes in 2020.

MORE: Watch Formula 1 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The 2020 season was also numbing for Sebastian Vettel: While Vettel has a seat in 2021 (Aston Martin Racing, formerly known as Racing Point), the end of his productive career with Scuderia Ferrari is coming with a sputter and not a flourish. For the first time since 2008, Vettel will finish outside the top five in driver’s points, just a year after finishing fifth and two years after finishing second.

Despite all the sadness, maybe the real  2021 F1 season was the friends we made along the way. Or something.

Here’s what you need to know about the final race of the 2021 F1 season:

What channel is the F1 race on today?

  • Race: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
  • Date: Sunday, Dec. 13
  • TV channel: ESPN
  • Live stream: Watch ESPN, fuboTV

Either ESPN or ESPN2 will broadcast all 2020 F1 races in the United States using Sky Sports’ feed.

All F1 races on ESPN and ESPN2 air commercial-free, and all practice sessions and qualifying air live and in replay across ESPN platforms.

In addition, ESPN Deportes serves as the exclusive Spanish-language home for all 2020 F1 races in the U.S.

What time does the F1 race start today?

  • Date: Sunday, Dec. 13
  • Start time: 8:10 a.m.

The 8:10 a.m. ET start time for Sunday’s race means the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will start at 5:10 p.m. local time. ESPN’s broadcast starts five minutes earlier at 8:05 a.m, not taking into account the pre-race show.

Below is the complete TV schedule for the weekend’s F1 events at the Sakhir Grand Prix. All times are Eastern.

Date Event Time TV channel
Friday, Dec. 11 Practice 1 4:00 a.m. ESPN2
Friday, Dec. 11 Practice 2 8:00 a.m. ESPN2
Saturday, Dec. 12 Practice 3 5:00 a.m. ESPN2
Saturday, Dec. 12 Qualifying 8:00 a.m. ESPN2
Sunday, Dec. 13 Race 8:10 a.m. ESPN2

Please note, these are start-of-the-event times. ESPN’s brodcasting schedule begins five minutes earlier.

Formula 1 live stream for Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

For those who don’t have a cable or satellite subscription, there are four major OTT TV streaming options that carry ESPN — fuboTV, Sling, Hulu, YouTubeTV and AT&T Now. Of the four, Hulu and YouTubeTV offer free trial options.

Below are links to each.

  • fuboTV  (free trial)
  • Sling
  • Hulu  (free trial)
  • YouTubeTV  (free trial)
  • AT&T Now

For those who do have a cable or satellite subscription but are not in front of a TV, Formula 1 races in 2020 can be streamed live via phones, tablets and other devices on the ESPN app with authentication.

Formula 1 schedule 2020

F1 in July released an update to what is now a 17-race schedule that concludes in mid-December. The organization wanted a slate of 15-18 races for its 2020 season, and it looks to have succeeded. 

“We currently expect the opening races to be closed events, but hope fans will be able to join our events again when it is safe to do so,” F1 said in June. “The health and safety of all involved will continue to be priority number one, with Formula 1 and the FIA having a robust and detailed plan to ensure our races maintain the highest level of safety with strict procedures in place.”

Below is the current confirmed Formula 1 schedule for 2020.

Date Race Course Start time TV channel Winner
July 5 Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Valtteri Boltas
July 12 Styrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
July 19 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 2 British Grand Prix Silverstone 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 9 70th Anniversary Grand Prix Silverstone 9:10 a.m. ESPN Max Verstappen
Aug. 16 Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Catalunya 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 30 Belgian Grand Prix Spa-Francorchamps 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Sept. 6 Italian Grand Prix Monza 9:10 a.m. ESPN Pierre Gasly
Sept. 13 Tuscan Ferrari 1000 Grand Prix Mugello 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Sept. 27 Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom 7:10 a.m. ESPN Valtteri Bottas
Oct. 11 Eifel Grand Prix Nurburgring 8:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Oct. 25 Portuguese Grand Prix Algarve International Circuit  9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Nov. 1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari 7:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Nov. 13 Turkish Grand Prix Istanbul Park Ci›rcuit 5:10 a.m. ESPN2 Lewis Hamilton
Nov. 29 Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit 9:10 a.m. ESPN2 Lewis Hamilton
Dec. 6 Sakhir Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit 12:10 p.m. ESPN2 Sergio Perez
Dec. 13 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit 8:10 a.m. ESPN2 TBD