Spoiler alert: Lewis Hamilton will NOT win the Sakhir Grand Prix.

That’s because Hamilton, the seven-time world champ and 11-time race winner in 2020, will be out of Sunday’s race in Sakhir while he recovers from the coronavirus. In a surprise, it won’t be Stoffel Vandoorne taking Hamilton’s spot, but rather Williams driver George Russell filling in, giving Team Mercedes and fans a small peek into the future.

MORE: Watch Formula 1 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

In the coming years, whether it’s via replacement or retirement, the Mercedes driver program racer is expected to slot into a seat in a Silver Arrow. While the results haven’t been there for Russell since being behind the wheel in a Williams wagon — he’s still searching for his first points in F1 — Sunday offers him the best chance to score points and make the racing world realize just how good of a driver he actually is.

Also out this Sunday is Haas driver Romain Grosjean, who continues to recover from injuries sustained in his near-fatal crash at the Bahrain GP this past weekend. Also making Haas news is Mick Schumacher, son of F1 legend Michael Schumacher, who signed and will be in a Haas seat come 2021.

The door for a podium is wide open with Hamilton out this Sunday. Here’s what you need to know about the Sakhir GP:

What channel is the F1 race on today?

  • Race: Sakhir Grand Prix
  • Date: Sunday, Dec. 6
  • TV channel: ESPN
  • Live stream: Watch ESPN, fuboTV

Either ESPN or ESPN2 will broadcast all 2020 F1 races in the United States using Sky Sports’ feed.

All F1 races on ESPN and ESPN2 air commercial-free, and all practice sessions and qualifying air live and in replay across ESPN platforms.

In addition, ESPN Deportes serves as the exclusive Spanish-language home for all 2020 F1 races in the U.S.

What time does the F1 race start today?

  • Date: Sunday, Dec. 6
  • Start time: 12:10 p.m.

The 12:10 p.m. ET start time for Sunday’s race means the Sakhir Grand Prix will start at 8:10 p.m. local time, making for a night race. ESPN’s broadcast starts five minutes earlier at 12:05 p.m, not taking into account the pre-race show.

Below is the complete TV schedule for the weekend’s F1 events at the Sakhir Grand Prix. All times are Eastern.

Date Event Time TV channel
Friday, Dec. 4 Practice 1 8:30 a.m. ESPN2
Friday, Dec. 4 Practice 2 12:30 p.m. ESPN2
Saturday, Dec. 5 Practice 3 9:00 a.m. ESPN2
Saturday, Dec. 5 Qualifying 12:00 p.m. ESPN2
Sunday, Dec. 6 Race 12:10 p.m. ESPN2

Please note, these are start-of-the-event times. ESPN’s brodcasting schedule begins five minutes earlier.

Formula 1 live stream for Sakhir Grand Prix

For those who don’t have a cable or satellite subscription, there are four major OTT TV streaming options that carry ESPN — fuboTV, Sling, Hulu, YouTubeTV and AT&T Now. Of the four, Hulu and YouTubeTV offer free trial options.

Below are links to each.

  • fuboTV (free trial)
  • Sling
  • Hulu (free trial)
  • YouTubeTV (free trial)
  • AT&T Now

For those who do have a cable or satellite subscription but are not in front of a TV, Formula 1 races in 2020 can be streamed live via phones, tablets and other devices on the ESPN app with authentication.

Formula 1 schedule 2020

F1 in July released an update to what is now a 17-race schedule that runs through at least early November. The organization wanted a slate of 15-18 races for its 2020 season, and it looks to have succeeded. 

“We currently expect the opening races to be closed events, but hope fans will be able to join our events again when it is safe to do so,” F1 said in June. “The health and safety of all involved will continue to be priority number one, with Formula 1 and the FIA having a robust and detailed plan to ensure our races maintain the highest level of safety with strict procedures in place.”

Below is the current confirmed Formula 1 schedule for 2020.

Date Race Course Start time TV channel Winner
July 5 Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Valtteri Boltas
July 12 Styrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
July 19 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 2 British Grand Prix Silverstone 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 9 70th Anniversary Grand Prix Silverstone 9:10 a.m. ESPN Max Verstappen
Aug. 16 Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Catalunya 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 30 Belgian Grand Prix Spa-Francorchamps 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Sept. 6 Italian Grand Prix Monza 9:10 a.m. ESPN Pierre Gasly
Sept. 13 Tuscan Ferrari 1000 Grand Prix Mugello 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Sept. 27 Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom 7:10 a.m. ESPN Valtteri Bottas
Oct. 11 Eifel Grand Prix Nurburgring 8:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Oct. 25 Portuguese Grand Prix Algarve International Circuit  9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Nov. 1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari 7:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Nov. 13 Turkish Grand Prix Istanbul Park Ci›rcuit 5:10 a.m. ESPN2 Lewis Hamilton
Nov. 29 Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit 9:10 a.m. ESPN2 Lewis Hamilton
Dec. 6 Sakhir Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit 12:10 p.m. ESPN2 TBD
Dec. 13 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit TBD TBD TBD