After a two-week respite following the year’s most eventful, chaotic and downright insane race, Formula 1 drivers shift gears and head to Sochi, Russia for the 2020 Russian Grand Prix.

The Tuscan GP was wild, resulting in eight drivers retiring, a few crashes, two red flags and three standing starts. It was the first race since 2016 that featured two red flags, and thankfully all drivers made it through crashes OK.

In the end, it was Lewis Hamilton coming across the checkered flag once again, his sixth victory on the season and his seventh podium finish.

MORE: Watch Formula 1 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The race will be held for the ninth time in its history, with Hamilton looking to continue his dominance of the track and of the field, with four victories at Sochi in total, and standing atop the first-place step on the podium in the last two years. Hamilton teammate Valtteri Bottas took home a win for Mercedes in 2017, while former Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg took home the honors in 2016, his last year on the circuit.

The Sochi Autodrom hosts its seventh Russian Grand Prix this Sunday. Here’s what you need to know about the race:

What channel is the F1 race on today?

  • Race: Russian Grand Prix
  • Date: Sunday, Sept. 27
  • TV channel: ESPN
  • Live stream: Watch ESPN, fuboTV

Either ESPN or ESPN2 will broadcast all 2020 F1 races in the United States using Sky Sports’ feed.

All F1 races on ESPN and ESPN2 air commercial-free, and all practice sessions and qualifying air live and in replay across ESPN platforms.

In addition, ESPN Deportes serves as the exclusive Spanish-language home for all 2020 F1 races in the U.S.

What time does the F1 race start today?

  • Date: Sunday, Sept. 27
  • Start time: 7:10 a.m. ET

The 7:10 a.m. ET start time for Sunday’s race means the Russian Grand Prix will start at 3:10 p.m. local time. ESPN’s broadcast starts five minutes earlier at 7:05 a.m, not taking into account the pre-race show.

The earlier start accounts for the shift to Russia, but because most of the 17 F1 races currently confirmed on the 2020 schedule will take place in Western Europe, expect similar start times to inch closer to 9:10 a.m. over the coming months.

Below is the complete TV schedule for the weekend’s F1 events at the Spanish Grand Prix.

Date Event Time TV channel
Friday, Sept. 25 Practice 1 4 a.m. ET ESPN2
Friday, Sept. 25 Practice 2 8 a.m. ET ESPN2
Saturday, Sept. 26 Practice 3 5 a.m. ET ESPN
Saturday, Sept. 26 Qualifying 8 a.m. ET ESPN
Sunday, Sept. 27 Pre-race show 6 a.m. ET ESPN
Sunday, Sept. 27 Race 7:10 a.m. ET ESPN

Please note, these are start of the event times. ESPN’s brodcasting schedule begins five minutes earlier.

Formula 1 live stream for Russian Grand Prix

For those who don’t have a cable or satellite subscription, there are four major OTT TV streaming options that carry ESPN — fuboTV, Sling, Hulu, YouTubeTV and AT&T Now. Of the four, Hulu and YouTubeTV offer free trial options.

Below are links to each.

  • fuboTV (free trial)
  • Sling
  • Hulu (free trial)
  • YouTubeTV (free trial)
  • AT&T Now

For those who do have a cable or satellite subscription but are not in front of a TV, Formula 1 races in 2020 can be streamed live via phones, tablets and other devices on the ESPN app with authentication.

Formula 1 schedule 2020

F1 in July released an update to what is now a 17-race schedule that runs through at least the end of October. The organization wanted a slate of 15-18 races for its 2020 season, and it looks to have succeeded. 

“We currently expect the opening races to be closed events, but hope fans will be able to join our events again when it is safe to do so,” F1 said in June. “The health and safety of all involved will continue to be priority number one, with Formula 1 and the FIA having a robust and detailed plan to ensure our races maintain the highest level of safety with strict procedures in place.”

Below is the current confirmed Formula 1 schedule for 2020.

Date Race Course Start time TV channel Winner
July 5 Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Valtteri Boltas
July 12 Styrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
July 19 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 2 British Grand Prix Silverstone 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 9 70th Anniversary Grand Prix Silverstone 9:10 a.m. ESPN Max Verstappen
Aug. 16 Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Catalunya 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Aug. 30 Belgian Grand Prix Spa-Francorchamps 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Sept. 6 Italian Grand Prix Monza 9:10 a.m. ESPN Pierre Gasly
Sept. 13 Tuscan Ferrari 1000 Grand Prix Mugello 9:10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton
Sept. 27 Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom 7:10 a.m. ESPN TBD
Oct. 11 Eifel Grand Prix Nurburgring 8:10 a.m. ESPN TBD
Oct. 25 Portuguese Grand Prix Algarve International Circuit  9:10 a.m. ESPN TBD
Nov. 1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari 9:10 a.m. ESPN TBD
Nov. 13 Turkish Grand Prix Istanbul Park Circuit TBD TBD TBD
Nov. 29 Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit TBD TBD TBD
Dec. 6 Sakhir Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit TBD TBD TBD
Dec. 13 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit TBD TBD TBD

SN’s Tadd Haislop contributed to this story.